Review : A hole in the pavement by Thalia Newland

Unrealistic and Unbearably Overrated

51go33w7hvl-_sx331_bo1204203200_Every morning Norris sees his Goddess walk to the buss stop. Has she noticed him? Who would notice him, a bow tie wearing miniature car freak…
One morning, just as he sees his neighbouring beauty get out of her house, she falls on the pavement. Immobilized by what seems a fit of social anxiety, he leaves her be and falls into a deep hole himself. The next day, as he closes the metal gate of his front lawn behind him, he sees his love interest fall into a hole…

First off, I like Newland’s style of writing. It is quirky and funny and although I sometimes did cringe (characters talking to themselves, repetition of words etc … ) there were some very good and nice paragraphs that I enjoyed reading.
The story on the other hand is totally unreal and unbelievable. First of all : what is up with the holes. Why are they there in the first place, why doesn’t someone call the council the first day they appear? I have never seen holes like that on my pavement and surely if they would be sinkholes the city or the council would be racing to the spot to 1. Help and or evict people in the vicinity 2. close the damn holes.
The whole repetition of the ” getting up and going out and seeing her and falling into a whole ” did put me off to be honest. It made me sigh and I wanted to scroll down to see if it got – hopefully – a bit less boring.
I also have to address the fact that Norris was the only character that was realistic.

I did not like this story at all. It felt like it had been written by a 12 year old. I give it a 2 out of 5 because I did like the writing style.

A hole in the pavement on Amazon 

Get your book reviewed! 

www.patreon.com/merlotandwriting

Leave a Reply

